« back

ACP Countries


African, Caribbean and Pacific Countries

Ties with the ACP countries, governed since 1975 by the regularly adapted and updated Lomé Convention are a particularly important aspect of the EU’s development cooperation policy and, more widely, of its external action. The Cotonou Agreement (successor of Lomé IV), signed in 2000 sets out the framework for trade relations and development cooperation with the ACP countries. This framework also contains a cultural and audiovisual dimension. In this context, the development of ACP’s cultural industries and the promotion of exchanges in cultural and audiovisual services is a necessary component of the EU’s cultural diversity and sustainable development objectives.

The A to Z of Audiovisual and Media Policy Glossary

e-platform european union